Ma'ariv, March 19, 2017 (translated)

Prestigious new Award to be launched in Israel

The Blavatnik Awards will be awarded annually to promising scientists and engineers in Israeli universities in the fields of life sciences, physical sciences and engineering, and chemistry: “will make a significant impact on our future”

The New York Academy of Sciences and the Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities announced today (Sunday) that the prestigious Blavatnik Awards for Young Scientists will launch in Israel. The annual award promotes recognition of innovation and excellence of scientists and engineers early in their independent careers – when funding and recognition are most significant, and will be given to three young and promising faculty members from Israeli universities in three disciplines — Life Sciences, Physical Sciences & Engineering, and Chemistry. The prize for each winner will be US$100,000.

The Blavatnik Awards for Young Scientists, established in 2007 by the Blavatnik Family Foundation, in addition to launching in Israel, will also launch for the first time in the United Kingdom.

Len Blavatnik, Founder and Chairmen of Access Industries and Head of the Blavatnik Family Foundation, said: “Encouraging and supporting young scientists is essential if we are to successfully address society’s challenges. By honoring these young investigators and their achievements we are helping to promote the breakthroughs in science and technology that will define how our world will look over the next century. I have no doubt that the young scientists and engineers of Israel, a country that exemplifies innovation and excellence, will make a significant impact on our future.”

Professor Nili Cohen, President of the Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities, noted that the Blavatnik Awards fill the need for recognition and support of young scientists in Israel who demonstrate outstanding merit. “The Blavatnik Family Foundation and the New York Academy of Sciences identified this need in the United States and provided a solution. We are proud to join these two organizations in providing a similar response in Israel.”

Each university will be eligible to nominate faculty members as candidates for the awards for each of the three disciplines. The Scientific Advisory Council comprised of well-known scientists and engineers will review the recommendations and choose the award winners. The Council will be headed by Nobel Prize winner, Professor Aaron Ciechanover, and Ellis Rubinstein, President and CEO of the New York Academy of Sciences.